Shippers Make Comeback To Triumph In Three Sets At University Gymnasium

Score Is 12-15, 15-10, 15-5 — Apollos Win Easily From Police, 15-8, 15-0—Two More Games Will Be Played Tonight

MATSON A. C. and the Apollos emerged victorious from the initial games of the Senior ASUH Volleyball league last night at the University gymnasium.

The Shippers won a three-set battle from the powerful Pearl Harbor Civilian aggregation, 12-15, 15-10, 15-5, while the Apollos made

short work of the Police, winning 15-8, 15-0.

Off to a great start, the Pearl Harhorites looked impressive early in the match. Despite bitter opposition, they won the first set, 15-12. They continued to set the pace early in the second set, but the Matsons got their attack underway and started cutting down their lead.

Once they got going, the Shippers were invincible. They won the second set 15-10 and then in the final set they outclassed the Pearl Harborites.

POLICE OUTCLASSED

The Apollos proved too fast and experienced for the Police. Early in the first set, the Police put up fair resistance but in the face of the Apollos' persistent attack, they were put to rout. In the second set, the Apollos paraded through to victory without dropping a point.

Tonight another doubleheader will be staged. Outrigger meets Aiea at 7:80 and in the nightcap the Vagabonds will battle the University.

Lineups of last night's matches follow:

Police—A. Wong M. A. Lum M. M. Pung ef. A. Piscard M. J. Dickson rb. V. Peroff cb. E. Moses 1b. W. C. Lee to. Nishida 1b.

Apollos—S. Morton M. A. Karratti et E. Kula M. D. Puuloa rb, T. Kupahu sb, J. Puuloa eb, T. Chong 1b. Matsons—G. Hansen rf. J. Wong M. S. Lee ef. C. Keliikipi M. E. Shea

re. Fedro cb. E. Akau 1b.

Fesri Harbor Civilians—B. Loughmir ff, M. Cordeiro cf, A. Braun

If, D. Braun rb, A. Cordeiro cb, J.

Cabill lb.

Fukuchi Cup Tournament At Moanalua

Japanese To Stage 36-Hole Tournament Next Sunday

THE Fukuchi trophy will be the object of competition Sunday when the Japanese Golf club stages a 36-hole tournament at Moanalua. Full handicap will be allowed.

Originally, the trophy was to have gone to the golfer winning it three times.

When the late Tsuneo Pukuchi, then manager of the Yokohama specie Bank, put the trophy up for competition in 1932, he said that in the event no one has won it three times within five years, it should go into the permanent possession of a golfer winning it twice.

This being the sixth year of competition, the change has been put into effect.

Joe Shikata won the trophy in 1982. Duke Shiraki annexed it the following year and then S. K. Nakamura captured it. George Yamasaki emerged victorious in 1935, and A. K.