Close Races

(Continued from Page 12)

scratching, no trials were necessary for 150-yard backstroke Hawaiian Championship Open for men, the 100-yard breaststroke Hawaiian Championship for women and 50yard backstroke for boys under 13 years of age.

Results:

100-Yard Backstroke, boys under 16. First heat-Won by F. Tanaka (40 & 8); second, P. Silva (Palama); third, B. Read (Roosevelt). Time: 1:15:2. Second heat — Won by C. Webster (Unattached); second, K. Powers (Roosevelt); third, B. Paty (Unattached). Time: 1:17.

220-Yard Breaststroke Junior men. First heat-Won by Milliken (Unattached); second. S. Okamoto (Nuuanu Y); third, Y. Eto (University). Time: 3:16:4. Second heat-Won by C. Chang (Nuuanu Y); second, R. Pang (University); third, J. Matsuo (40 & 8). Time: 3:17.

100-Yard Backstroke novice for men. First heat-Won by N. Aluli (University); second, S. Kauinana (Citywide); third, C. Taira (40 & 8). Time: 1:14:2. Second heat-Won by Quaintance (University); second, G. Greenwell (Unattached); third, Iwamura (University). Time: 1:17:1.

220-Yard Freestyle Open for men. First heat-Won by W. Craw (University); second, W. Bayne (Roose-velt); third, W. Waidlich (Army). Time: 2:31:3. Second heat—Won by Doble (Army); second, Kuramoto (University): third, E. Nakamura (40 & 8). Time: 2:35:2.

100-Yard Backstroke novice for women. First heat—Won by M. Holden (OCC); second, C. Hatcher (Citywide); third, Akamine (Unattached). Time: 1:40:3. Second heat -Won by M. Morse (40 & 8); second, A. Kane (Citywide); third, A. Jay (Unattached). Time: 1:25:1.