## Canoe Association Selects Officers At Formal Meeting

The first formal meeting in the history of the Hawaiian Canoe Paddling association was held last night at Lau Yee Chai's at Waikiki and was made conspicuous by the attendance of all the members who are representatives of the 10 teams which will compete in the Kamehameha Jubilee canoe regatta Thursday and the first election of officers.

Starting at 7 p.m., the meeting was called to order and the business at hand was soon under way. The election of officers, drawing of lanes for the races and the selection of a method of identifying the various contestants in Thursday's races were all accomplished.

Charlie Amau, representative of the Queen's Surf team, was chosen first president of the as-

sociation. Other officers elected were: Lorrin P. Thurston, vise president; Clarence Dyer, treasurer; Cecil Benny, secretary; and Pump Searle, auditor.

The lanes for the races were then allotted and the agreement made that the order should be rotated with each race. The contestants will start in the following order of lanes: Queen's Surf, Hui Nalu, Milolii, Hoonaunau, Outrigger Canoe club, University of Hawaii, Kauai, Kailua, Healani, and Honolulu Girls' Rowing club.

It was also decided that each boat would be identified by means of a numbered flag, the numbers having been allotted in the same order as the starting lineup, each team then retaining its same number throughout the series.