PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE BYLAWS OF OUTRIGGER CANOE CLUB 1971

The following proposed amendments to the Bylaws are those referred to in the call of the Annual Meeting of the members of the Outrigger Canoe Club, to be held on the <u>club premises</u> at <u>five p.m. on February 22, 197</u>1. The proposed changes are recommended by the Board of Directors and fall generally into three categories:

- 1. Change of intent;
- 2. Clarification with no change of intent;
- 3. Simplification of wording and elimination of conflicting or duplicative provisions with no substantive change.

The brief explanatory notes following each section are intended to assist the members in understanding the intent of the proposed revisions.

PRESENT WORDING SECTION 6

<u>Composition and Ter</u>m. The Board of Directors shall consist of 13 regular members from and after the annual Membership meeting of the Club in 1958 and 15 regular members from and after the annual membership meeting of the Club in 1959 and thereafter. The regular members of the board shall be elected to serve for two years. At the annual meeting held during even-numbered calendar years (after 1957) eight directors shall be elected and during odd-numbered calendar years (after 1957) seven directors shall be elected. Duke P. Kahanamoku shall be an honorary director of the Club but shall not be required to attend meetings. Beginning with the calendar year 1961, no member of the Board of Directors shall be nominated or elected to the Board for more than three successive terms. This is not to be regarded as a limitation on the number of terms a member can serve as long as such terms are not successive ones.

Vacancies and Removals. No change

PROPOSED WORDING

<u>Composition and Ter</u>m. The Board of Directors shall consist of fifteen members elected from classes of membership entitled to vote. Members of the Board shall be elected to serve for two years. At the Annual Meeting held during even-numbered calendar years, eight directors shall be elected, and during oddnumbered years, seven directors shall be elected. No member shall be elected to the Board of Directors for more than three successive terms, but may serve for more than three terms which are not successive.