Downloaded on Nov 8, 2023

TURKEY LOVE CAPTURES SURFING CHAMPIONSHIP

Gene Smith Leads Field in Paddleboard Test—Tandem Won by David Kalauokalani—Big Crowd Sees Surfing Revival Off Waikiki

With a large crowd looking on, Hawaii's ace surfboard artists revived the ancient sport on a large scale, off Waikiki yesterday.

Climaxed by the Open Surfing championships, which drew 78 entries, four events were run off by the Hawaii Surfing Association. Flashing virtually perfect form,

Flashing virtually perfect form, Turkey Love piled up 50 points in the five heats, leading in each, to annex the championship.

Tom Kiakona, B. Makua, Wallace Froiseth, and Diamond Martin, followed in that order.

The one-mile Open Paddleboard race was captured by husky Gene Smith, who led the field by three minutes, in his winning time of 15 min. 34.9 sec.

Other leaders were J. Pang, Blue Makua and Wally Froiseth.

Tandem Races

David Kalukiokalani led in the tandem tests, with Searle Carvalho and Gene Smith placing second and third.

The Team Surfing championship went to T. Kiakona, J. Froiseth, W. Froiseth, and G. Smith, while two teams tied for second.

Inspired by the success of the inaugural event, the Hawaii Surfing Association plans to make the meet an annual classic, according to John Lind, president.

Following are the results:
Open Surfing—Won by Turkey
Love (50); second, Tommy Kiakona (28); third, B. Makua (24.5);
fourth, Wallace Froiseth (23);
fifth, Diamond Martin (22); sixth,
K. Tosaki (16); seventh, K. Yamase (14); eighth, F. Kennedy

(Continued on Page 12)

Nottage Has Best Score

Finishes Three Up On Par in Waialae Club Play

The Waialae Country Club held a match play against par with seven-eighths handicaps on Saturday, M. K. Cummins and R. E. White, both finishing two up, tied for first prize in the A Class. The following five, all one down, tied for third: E. K. Patton, C. G. Heiser, J. K. Lamberton, K. J. Fielder, J. C. Walker.

P. H. Nottage, three up, led the B class. A. F. Hastings, one up, was second. T. C. Chamberlain, even, was third and C. M. Tolstrup, one down, fourth

one down, fourth.

J. E. Midkiff, two up, led the C class. J. E. Boyle, one up, was second and I. M. Stainback, three down, fourth.

Fifty-four played in the tournament.