Old Time Surfing Carnival Planned at Waikiki Sunday

and around a marker a half mile from shore, return to the beach carrying their board past the finish line.

3—Open team surfing championship. This event is limited to four men to a team, the procedure the same as in the first event. One man from each team will take a wave at a time until all four have ridden.

4—Tandem surfing. Grace, skill and general appearance will count in this event, in which women are expected to compete in numbers. A silver cup will be presented to the winning team and medals to second and third place winners.

The committee in charge includes O. E. Patterson, well known surfmsn; Walter Napoleon, captain of the territorial beach patrol; William Brooks, surfman, and Mr. Lind.

Judges will be William Bowman, Jacob Y. Ing. C. B. Broderick, Gary Uchida, Charles Neal, John McMahon, Warren Kanne, Hiram Anahu, O. B. Patterson and McGregor Thomas.

Announcer in charge of the public address system will be Fred Barnett. Cecil Benny will be timer and Ted (Pump) Searle, George (Dad) Center, Lorrin P. Thurston, Walter Macfarlane and John Kapiko honorary judges.

The first event will start at 12:30 p. m.



