Duke Kahanamoku Leads Outrigger Crew To Win Feature Canoe Race

By JOE ANZIVINO ON THE BEACH AT WAIKIKI July 8.—A variety of 12 outrigger canoe races revived Hawaii's famous aquatic sports here this afternoon during the Walter Macfar-

lane memorial races.

Sponsored by the Outrigger Canoe club, the big splash today attracted some 3,000 spectators.

The Walter Macfarlane perpetual trophy went to the OCC as the great Duke Kahanamoku brought home the

Leilani in 33 min-Joe Anzivino utes 17.7 seconds in the blue ribbon Members of the winning crew included Thad Ekstrand, J. Fernie.

C. Rivas, T. Arnott, T. O'Brien and Duke Kahanamoku. In the special servicewomen attraction, the lady marines led the pack with a close margin over Na-

tional Red Cross. Signe Hill, Ruth Hurd, Bertha Schultz, Natalie Slack and Margaret Upton comprised the winning crew, with veteran Charles Amalu as their steersman.

Following the three and a half hour canoe program, attractive trophies were presented to winners of each event.

Here is a complete order of races with winners and times in each event:

Six man enlisted men (service)— Duke Kahanamoku, Mickey Beggs, J. Fernie, Bob Ireton, Carlos Rivas and Tom O'Brien, winners. Time, 7 minutes 39.5 seconds.

Six man kids under 16-Hui Nalu,

first (P. Moses, A. Beddow, H. Kalahiha, C. Brown, H. May and J. Andrews). Time, 5 minutes, 29.3 seconds. Six man Junior men—Won by Outrigger Canoe club (T. Kiakona, D. Denhardt, J. Peacock, P. Caricof, W. Seal tory in the \$10,000 Gazelle stakes.

and R. Ireton, crew). Time, 7 minutes 50.3 seconds.

Service six man canoe (officers)— OCC, first (Bob Fischer, J. Peacock, E. Van Gieson, D. Livijngston, E. N. Thomas and R. Dolan, Time, 8 minute

32.9 seconds. Special Servicewomen race—Won by lady marines; Red Cross, second; SPARs, third; WACs, fourth; WAVEs, fifth. Time, 1 minute 11.8 seconds.

Senior six man main event-OCC winner (Duke Kahanamoku, Thad Ekstrand, J. Ernie, C. Rivas, T. Arnott strand, J. Ernie, C. Rivas, T. Arnott and T. O'Brien), Kaiopua club second, Hui Nalu third. Time, 33 minutes 17.7 seconds.

Girls alx man cance — Won by OCC (T. Kiakona, P. Monahan, J. Reichard, L. Gilman, A. Monahan and R. Robinson). Time, 9 minutes 29.8 seconds.

Two man senior—Won by OCC (B. Cook and H. Schupak); Kaiopua club, second; Hui Nalu, third. Time, 6 minutes 30.9 seconds.

Girls four paddle—OCC No. 2 winner (Steersman T. Kiakona, P. Monahan, J. Reichard, R. Robinson, A. Monahan). Time, 6 minutes 19.3 seconds.
Senior men's four paddle—Won

OCC No. 2 (B. Cook, R. Dolan, E. H. Thomas, E. Van Gieson). Time, 5 minutes 9.5 seconds.

utes 9.5 seconds.

Six paddle boys under 12—Won by OCC (K. Kakina, R. Lee, R. Witham, G. Kepoo, P. Dolan, D. Philpotts, Charles Amalu). Time, 43.7 seconds.

Relay race, 12 men—Won by OCC (Duke Kahanamoku, Tom O'Brien, T. Arnott, C. Rivas, J. Fernie, Thad Ekstrand and B. Ireton, B. Seal, P. Caricof, D. Denhart, J. Peacock, T. Kakona). Time, 10 minutes 15.5 seconds.

Bric a Bac Cops Santa Anita Race

ARCADIA, Cal., July 9. (A)-Brie a Bac, \$9.30, won the \$50,000 added San Juan Capistrano handicap Saturday before 46,000 at Santa Anita.

Wing and Wing was second and Best Effort was third. Favored Gay Dalton was fifth.

The winner was timed in 2 minutes 30 4/5 seconds for the mile

Ace Card, \$3.90, ridden by Eddie Arcaro, raced to a six length vic-