## Large Crowd Present For Colorful Event

Hui Nalu staged an upset yesterday by tying the Outrigger Canoe Club for first place in the Walter J. MacFarlane Memorial canoe races held at the club yesterday.

chance to retain the title they won chance to retain the title they won last year by being disqualified in the senior four-paddle open and the senior four-paddle open and the senior four-paddle open and boys under 14 events. All crews were disqualified in the lelay open, which was won by Hui Nalu. Prizes were awarded but no points were garnered.

A capacity crowd witnessed the colorful races which were under the direction of William J. Mullahey. Meet officials included Duke P. Kahanamoku, Robert Fischer, athletic coordinating chairman, and Neal Ifversen, race committee chairman. Starters were Bill Hollinand Leon Sterling. Judges were Wilford Godbold, Outrigger president: Jack Mac-Kenzie, John D. Kaupiko, Dr. Blom, Lt. B. Greenwood, Clifford Melim and Mullahey.

Results:

Hesults:
Junior six-paddle open, 134 miles:
Won by Outrigger (Bill Denhart, W.
Ireion, Buzz Moriartly, Van Darrow, D.
Carieroft, Tom Kiakons, steersman);
second, Hui Nalu; Hird, Army; fourth,
Junior Civic Club, Time: 5:39.4.
Senior two-paddle open, 5:15 miles:
Won by Outrigger (James Pflueger,
Tom Arnot, steersman); second, Hui
Nalu Time: 1:50.3.

Women's six-paddle, open, 124 mile:
Won by Outrigger (Ann Monahan, Betsy Sumner, Pat Honl, May Freeth,
Evanelle Mountcastle, William Cook,
sieersman); second, Ulu Nii; third,
J.C.C.; fourth, Hui Nalu, Time: 8:09.5

Senior four-paddle open, 1% mile: Word of the first state of the first state open and first s

Time: 7:49. Outrager asquamed.

Junior two-paddle open: Won by Army (17.5 Alvin Isaacs, Pfc. Walter L. Young); second, OCC; third, Hui Nalu: fourth JCC. Time: 2 minutes Senior six-paddle open, four miles, Blue Ribbon event for Walter J. Mac-Farlane perpetual trophy: Won by Outrigger (Tom Arnott, Carlos Rivas, J. Dowsett, Jim Pflueger, Jim Fernie, Allan Love, steersman); second, Hui Nalu. Time: 22:7.3.

Boy's under 14: Won by Army (John Picks, Carleton Sutherland, William Purdy, John Snodgrass, Ham Winston, Walter L. Young); second, Hui Noju. Outrigger disqualified, Time: 1:55.4.

Men over 40, six-paddle open, 5/16 miles: Won by Hui Nalu (A. K. Pang, A. K. Yee, B. Kahanamoku, B. Keaweamah), J. Ksimana, John D. Kaupiko, steersman). Outrigger disqualified, Time: 1:54.8, Relay open, two crews, 2:2/3 miles:

Each team collected 23 points, followed by the Army with 14; Uluniu, 3, and Junior Civic Club, 1. The OCC paddlers lost their

## Plays USED For Pennant

The Federal Employes baseball league will hold its championship game at Honolulu Stadium at 7:45 tonight.

The Pearl Harbor Civilians and the USED are tied after completion of their regular schedule with five wins and one loss apiece.

The Civilians defeated the Engineers 5-4 in the first round but the Engineers were not to be out done and came back in the second round to take a 7-4 win to tie up the series.

Joe Pavlik of the Harbors and Masaji Uyehara of the USED, two of the best chuckers in the league, will oppose each other. Uyehara, Braves centerfielder, proved himself valuable to the Engineers by tossing three wins in the series.

The Civilians have the edge in hitting power with stars like Ted Zouki, Arthur Glenn Gunn, Indie and Phillip Cordeiro on their lineup, but the Engineers have a great defensive team built around Sparky Neves, Roy Banks, Eddie Kaulukukui and Joe Kaulukukui.

The lineups follow:

Pearl Harbor-Charles Baptist, George Sheridan, rf; Glenn 2b: Gunn, cf; Arthur Indie, lf; Philip Cordeiro. 1b; Adam Jose, ss; Ted Zouki, 3b; Ray Salsedo, c; Pavlik, p. USED—Joe Kaulukukui,

James. Masa, 2b; Handy Padegan, James, Mass., 25. Al Miyamoto, c; Sparky Neves, ss; Vernon Higa, rf; Joseph Cabral, 3b; Matsujo Uyehara, p.

All crews disqualified and declared no

contest

Special event, tug-of-war: Won by Junior Civic Club (Thomas Ontal, Lionel Brash, Barry Pritchard, George Yomas, James Kealoha, Calvin Ontal, Charles Pernandes,