## **Outrigger Canoe Club Wins** Kamehameha Day Regatta

Outrigger Canoe club won the annual Kamehameha Day canoe and surfboard regatta Monday off Waikiki beach.

The sixth event, men's novice, was won by the Waikiki Surf club. An estimated crowd of 5,000 saw the races.

The afternoon's activities opened with the hookupu, bringing of gifts of food to Sam Fuller, who ruled as king of the aquafest. He received the winning crews and presented them with fruits.

# With the men's races 11/2 miles long, the paddlers went offshore 34 of a mile and paddled back to the shore.

lone women's race over The 3 straight course along the shore was won by the Outrigger crew with "Turkey" Love at the helm. Waikiki Surf club was second and another OCC canoe third.

OCC's Leilani crew in the open race registered the best time of the meet. The time was 100 minutes 15.3 seconds. Members of the crew were Tommy O'Brien, Warren Ackerman, Jimmy Pflueger, T. Arnott, T. Ekstrand and Turkey Love.

Waikiki Surf's George Downing was an easy first in the surfboard

## 2 Marlin Caught **On Sultan's Boat**

Edward D. Sultan's Olga-L made an excellent showing while fishing in Kona waters over the weekend. Sultan was host to Hy C. Holloand Porter Dickinson, wav all members of the Hawaii Big Game Fishing club and all participating in the three-day semiannual tournament.

# # Monday proved to be the top day when Dickinson landed a striped marlin just 20 minutes out of Kailua bay at 6:30 a. m. It weighed 125 pounds.

A second striped marlin, weighing about 110 pounds, was boated by Holloway about 10 a.m. Other fish landed by the Olga-L

Monday were a Hawaiian salmon, a 35 pound mahimahi, five small

Copping five out of six races, the race for boys, open. Winning time was 14 minutes and 28 seconds, Results follow:

CANOE RACE, boys under 17-Won by Outrigger Canoe club (Allen Kaaua, William Goodheart, Albert Lemes, Paul Dick, William Prange, Paul Dolan); 2nd, Hui Nalu Team A; 3rd, Waikiki Surf club; 4th, Hui Nalu Team B. Time 11 minutes and 19.8 seconds.

CANOE RACE FOR MEN, freshman CANDE RACE FOR MEN, rresman -Won by Outrigger Cance club (Ronald Correll, Archie Kaaua, Tommy Haynes, Richard McGill, George Schattenburg, Charles Schrader); 2nd, Hui Nalu; 3rd, Waikiki Surf club; 4th, Hui Nalu Team article club; 4th, Hui Nalu Team B. Time, 11 minutes and 12.4 seconds.

# #2 SURFBOARD RACE FOR BOYS, open-Won by George Downing (Wai-kik, Surf club); 2nd, Tom Schroeder (Outrigger Canoe club); 3rd, David (Outrigger Canoe club); sid, Rob-Heiser (Waikiki Surf club); 4th, Robert Krusen (Waikiki Surf club). 14 minutes and 28 seconds. 22 # -

*B B B* CANOE RACE, GIRLS--Won by Out-rigger Canoe club Team A (Anita Berg, Doris Berg, Jean Cooper, Helen Hax-pon, Gainor Lloyd, "Turkey" Love); 2nd, Waikiki Surf club; 3rd, Outrigger Canoe club Team B. Time, 1 minute and 33.1 seconds. CANOE RACE FOR MEN, Juniors-Won by Outrigger Canoe club Team A (Neal Ryan, James Muirhead, John-y Goss, Elia Long, Johnny Crites, Jack Cross); 2nd, Outrigger Canoe club Team B; 3rd, Waikiki Surf club; 4th, Hui Nalu. Time, 10 minutes and club Team B; 3rd, Waikiki Surf club; 4th, Hui Nalu. Time, 10 minutes and 16.3 seconds.

CANOE RACE FOR MEN, novice---Won by Waikiki Surf club (Len Oku---mura, William Mitchell, Rod Asano, W. Watanabe, I. Tsuda, Kenneth To-saki); 2nd, Hui Nalu; 3rd, Outrigger Canoe club. Time, 11 minutes and 15.7 seconds.

CANOE RACE FOR MEN, open-Won by Outrigger Canoe club Team A (Tommy O'Brien, Warren Ackerman, James Pflueger, T. Arnott, T. Ek-strand, "Turkey" Love); 2nd, Outrig-ger Canoe club, Team B; 3rd, Hui Nalu; 4th, Waikiki Surf club. Time, 10 minutes and 15.3 seconds. # 22 #

" " " " OFFICIALS OF THE MEET: Sir Frank Beaurepaire, honorary marshal; Charles Grainger, deputy marshal; George (Dad) Center, head Judge; Kenneth Pratt, Joe Akana, Henry Lum, offshore Judges; Buster Shim, Al Long, Ernest Stenberg, Scoop Tsuzuki, George Waialeale, James Beardmore, inshore Judges ludges.

# 12 # Carlos Rivas, announcer; Cecil Benny and Robert Corbaley, head timers; Johnny Black, Dave Heiser, Oscar Til-ler, Nip Tong, Frank Kennedy, Pat Silva, timers; Robert Fischer, starter;

William Hollinger, deputy starter. William Barnhart, chief clerk of course; Abel Gomes and William Ire-ton, deputy clerks of course; Mrs. Thomas O'Brien, recorder.