Canoe Races Are Held

At Waikiki

The annual Walter J. Macfar-lane Memorial canoe regatta was held yesterday by the Outrigger

Canoe Club.
With Hui Nalu and Waikiki
Surf Club dropping out of the races yesterday morning, the color-

the

ful beach competition was held exclusively among crews from Outrigger Canoe Club.

A disagreement regarding en-A disagreement regarding entries caused the two clubs to with-draw their paddlers. Hui Nalu and the Surf Club opposed the move of the OCC to enter two crews.

The OCC officials explained

that only points won by its No. 1 canoe would count toward the team championship, although the second crew could qualify for medals. The explanation was not

accepted. The Leilani, crewed Ackerman, Pflueger,

O'Brien, Ackerman, Pflueger, Arnott, Ekstrand, Love, won the Senior Six race for men, with the Kakina crew second. First nonors in the Women's Senior Six race went to the Leilani crew. The Kakina was swamped. In the freshmen six event, the Kakina nosed ahead of

Leilani at the finish line, while the Leilani was the winner of the Junior Six race for men. Results:

Results:
JUNIOR SIX MEN—Won by Leilani
(Ryan, Muirhead, Goss, Long, Low,
Cross): second, Kakina. Time 10:31.6.
SENIOR TWO FOR MEN—Won by
Leilani (W. Ackerman, J. Pflueger):
second, Kakina. Time 1:41.8.
WOMEN'S SIX SENIOR—Won by Leilani. (Honl, Hite, Boyd, Spitz, Ackerman, Kiakona). Kakina swamped. Time
7:10.

7:10.

KIDS SIX, BOYS UNDER 17—Won
by Leilani (Berger, de Harne, Wooddell, Prange, Sinpich, Russell); Kakina
swamped, Time 12:
SENIOR SIX FOR MEN—Won by
Leilani (O'Brien, Ackerman, Pflueger,
Arnott, Ekstrand, Love); second, Kakina. Time 33:42.7.
EPESHMEN SIX FOR MEN—Won by

Kina. Time 33:42.7.
FRESHMEN SIX FOR MEN—Won by Kakina (Sorrell, Kaaua, Haine, McGill Worthington, Martin): second. Leilani

Time 10:55.8.
WOMEN'S SIX JUNIOR—Won by Ka-

WOMEN'S SIX JUNIOR-Won by Ka-kina (Purvis, Pratt, Blom, Stramahan, Purvis, Schrader), second, Leilani; third, Hanakeoki, Time 6:21.7, JUNIOR FOUR MEN-Won by Ka-kina (Ryan, J. Muirhead, Gos, Crossi; second, Leilani; third, Hanakeoke, Time 21.7. SENIOR FOUR FOR MEN-Won

(Dowsett, Smith, Tobin, second, Leilani, Time 6:01.4 Kakina